Articles Posted in Uncategorized

Maine Traffic Lawyer Katie Campbell

It is well known that when you see an emergency vehicle driving up behind you with its lights or siren activated, you pull over. But one important law that many motorists fail to follow is Maine’s “Move Over” law which also requires you to move over when an emergency vehicle is stationary on the side of the road.

When an officer pulls a person over, that officer, and sometimes even the occupants of the stopped vehicle, are standing on the side of the road. This is a dangerous situation to be in especially when on a busy road and especially at night. However, regardless of traffic conditions or the time of day, it is important that Maine motorists exercise caution, and follow the law when confronted with this situation.

Title 29-A §2054-9 is Maine’s “Move Over” law. What does the law require? When you pass a stopped emergency vehicle that is using an emergency light, you must:

You’ve been stopped and arrested for Operating Under the Influence of alcohol (OUI/DUI/DWI). You posted bail, and now you’re home. You’re terrified and have no idea where things go from here. All you did was drive your motor vehicle! You cannot believe you got a first offense DUI in Maine. At work everyone asks, “A drunk driving charge? Is this your first OUI?”

What were your test results? Blood alcohol level? Breath test? Blood test? Refusal? What are the first offense OUI penalties? If this summons for OUI/DUI/DWI is a subsequent offense to other significant driving convictions, we’ll be discussing them in a future blog. But for now, let’s take a minute and talk about the Maine first DUI.

When you are charged with a first offense in Maine, you actually have two cases going on at the same time. I try to get clients to visualize two trains on parallel tracks leaving the station together. On one track you have the court (the judge, the clerks, the DA’s Office), and on the other track you have the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. In most cases, long before the arraignment date for your court case (Plead not guilty!), the Bureau of Motor Vehicles BMV (also commonly known as “DMV”) will send you a Notice of Suspension. This is where we discuss loss of license. If you have not contacted a law firm at this point, you should do so now.

Breathalyzer test

In the United States, 28 people each year die from a car accident that involves some form of drink driving. That’s almost 30% of all traffic deaths in the country.

Not only this, alcohol-related crashes cost more than $44 billion each year.

Luckily, today, there are various ways to prevent these injuries- one of which is with a breathalyzer test.

drug arrests

Maine Drug Arrests Felony Misdemeanor
Updated May 1, 2019 by John S. Webb (shown with attorneys Katie Campbell and Vincent S. LoConte below)

Did you know that about 300 drug arrests are made in the state of Maine each year? Even for the most trivial drug charge, you could still be facing up to 6 months in jail and/or a $1000 fine. However, you are innocent until proven guilty in a court of law.

If you don’t want to spend time in jail or pay a hefty fine, you need to have a lawyer who will go to bat for you and, most importantly, knows what they are doing. An experienced lawyer who practices near your court will help you better understand what your criminal charges are and what your next steps should be.

best criminal lawyer

Whether you’re being charged with driving under the influence, theft or something else, it’s important you get the best criminal lawyer you can.

Finding a criminal lawyer that can fight your case in SACO Maine is essential if you’re going to stand a chance.

With so many criminal attornies, how you can you choose which is the right one to fight your corner. If you haven’t previously been in this position, it’s difficult to know where to start with hiring a criminal lawyer.

By: John Webb, Maine Criminal Defense Attorney for Over a Quarter Century

1st OUI in Maine

A DUI charge is a serious offense that shouldn’t be taken lightly. In the state of Maine, first-time offenders of a Maine OUI could face jail time, a $500 fine, and a 90-day license suspension. This first offense doesn’t include a possible probation period.

ME first drunk driving offense lawyers

If you’ve been arrested in southern Maine for DUI-OUI, it’s crucial you consider local law firms near me and then hire an attorney to represent you and help guide you to the best possible outcome. No person facing prosecution for a Maine OUI should try to navigate the legal process by themselves.

no-contact order

If you have recently been ordered to follow a no-contact order in Maine, you should not take any chances. Learning about the stipulations of the order could save you from having to face serious consequences.

A no-contact order is often confused with a restraining order, but the two are not the same. And, they can carry drastically different penalties.

The court of law takes these orders, also called “protective orders”, very seriously. If you are found in violation of such an order, you will have to answer to a justice system that is rarely forgiving under these circumstances. Breaking a no contact order is a very serious development.

driving to endanger maine

In some states, driving recklessly can be defined as strictly as going 11 MPH over the limit. In Maine, the nomenclature used for “reckless driving” is “driving to endanger” and for better or worse, the restricts aren’t so well defined. The problem with being arrested for driving to endanger in Maine is that it’s up to the discretion of the office.

One of the biggest problems with our criminal justice system is that people are often wrongly arrested. Once people are sent to court, even when innocent, they struggle to prove their lack of culpability, often without a lawyer. People who go unrepresented lose more often than people with attorneys, by a larger margin.

If you or someone you know has been charged with driving to endanger in Maine, you should consider hiring a lawyer. Here are 5 reasons why you should seek out representation.

Portland Maine Criminal Defense Attorney
By: John Webb, Top-Rated Lawyer in Maine: Offices in Portland ME & Saco ME

If you have been charged with a crime in the southern part of the state of Maine, it is in your best interest to secure the services of a top criminal defense attorney. No matter if it’s an OUI-DUI felony or misdemeanor, drug possession charge, domestic violence, or theft charges, our three criminal lawyers near me can assist.

Do I Need a Lawyer for Maine OUI DUI?
If jail or prison is a possible outcome of your trial, you have no reason to presume that you will be able to get yourself off the hook. It is exceptionally challenging for a private citizen to adequately navigate the legal system. “Pro-se” legal representation, or representing yourself, without an attorney, is possible, but certainly not recommended!

self defense laws

Using deadly force to protect yourself is a last resort nobody wants to imagine themselves having to use.

Unfortunately, it happens every day, and the law won’t always protect you for choosing this option.

Often, people will defend themselves with deadly force, and then claim they thought some other state’s laws applied to them. Or learn, to their surprise, that their own state’s laws don’t cover what happened to them.

Contact Information