In Maine, most people know that it is illegal to drive if you are impaired by alcohol or drugs. However, many people do not realize that you can also be charged with drugged driving or Operating Under the Influence (OUI) if it is believed that you are impaired by your own prescription medications. All the Webb Law Firm attorneys have received advanced training in this area.
In Maine, OUI/DUI charges area a Class D crime. That means that they are punishable by up to 364 days incarceration and a $2,000 fine. In addition, you may receive an administrative license suspension of 150 days for a first offense (if you submit to a breath/blood/urine test) or a license suspension of 275 days for a first offense (if you refuse to submit to a test). If you refuse to submit to a test, then you face an additional license suspension of 150 days by the court that will be consecutive to your administrative suspension. That means that if you refused to submit to a breath, blood, or urine test, then you are facing a 275-day license suspension plus an additional 150-day license suspension. If you are accused of an OUI/DUI and you have a prior OUI/DUI conviction within the last 10 years, then you are facing an even higher license suspension (3 years for a second offense, and 6 years for a third offense).
As you can see, there is a lot at stake if you have been accused of drugged driving. The license suspension alone can be a significant issue for a lot of folks living in Maine that do not have access to public transportation. Getting to and from work, doctor’s appointments, and school pickups, can make living with a suspended driver’s license extremely difficult. Because of this, it is critical that you contact an experienced OUI/DUI defense attorney right away who can help you navigate through the complex issues of being accused of drugged driving.
It is crucial that you make sure your rights are protected if you have been charged with a drugged driving offense. Many people may be legally taking their doctor-prescribed medications and still be accused of this crime. Just because a drug or prescription medication shows up in the drug test, it does not necessarily mean that you were impaired by that drug.
The attorneys at Webb Law Firm have made it a priority to learn the science behind drugged driving cases so as best to defend our clients accused of these crimes. As noted above, all the attorneys at Webb Law have received advanced training in Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) cases. A “DRE” is a law enforcement officer trained to recognize impairment in a driver from drugs, or a mix of drugs and alcohol. DRE Officers are certified through the International Association of Chiefs of Police. This certification is in addition to the Standardized Field Sobriety Test and ARIDE training that are prerequisites to DRE. Even if your drug test came back positive, it does not mean that you are guilty of this crime. If you have been accused of drugged driving, you need an experienced defense attorney who understands the complexities of defending these cases. Call Webb Law Firm today for a free consultation.