Articles Posted in Texting while driving

police-search-768x512-1-300x200What is an illegal stop?

If the police illegally stop you, then there is a chance your case could be thrown out! The problem is that the police can stop you for so many things. In order for a stop to be legal, the police only need articulable suspicion that a crime or traffic infraction has occurred. That means the list of reasons the police can use to justify a stop is very long. You can be stopped for anything from improper tinted windows to driving one mile per hour over the speed limit.

Once you are stopped for any legal reason, if the officer finds more evidence of a totally different crime, such as an odor of alcohol or slurred speech, then the investigation can turn into something completely separate from the reason for the stop. You could be stopped for going 5 miles per hour over the speed limit and then it could turn into a drinking and driving investigation.

checkpoints-DUI-300x225-1
There is no easy answer here. It depends on your situation and why you got the ticket. When we talk about tickets in this blog, we mean civil traffic violations such as failure to signal, speeding (under 30MPH over the speed limit), failure to stop at a stop sign, and other minor traffic infractions. We are not referring to more serious criminal driving charges like Operating Under the Influence, Criminal Speeding (over 30MPH over the speed limit), or Illegally Passing a School Bus. For any criminal charge, you should always have an attorney.

If you have a Commercial Driver Licenses (CDL), drive for a living, or have any concern that the ticket could cause you to lose your license, you should absolutely speak with an attorney. Any person whose driving record shows an accumulation of 12 demerit points for convictions or adjudications within a one year period may have his or her license, permit or privilege to operate suspended for a period of up to 15 days.

Here is a short list of examples of some of the demerit point values for common traffic tickets:

texting-while-driving-300x199Last Friday Maine passed a law to ban texting while driving.  The new law, which goes into effect on September 1, 2011, prohibits reading or manually composing any written electronic message while driving.  The penalty is a $100 fine.  It is not a crime for which jail can be imposed.  It is a traffic violation.

It is interesting that the penalty is only $100 or so for an offense that clearly impairs a person’s ability to drive.  In Maine a DUI carries a penalty of 364 days in jail, but the level of impairment is so low that you can be convicted even if the level of alcohol or drugs in your system does not impair your driving in any way.  So now if you are weaving down the road texting, the worst that can happen is a fine.  But if you have a tiny bit of physical impairment from alcohol that does not appreciably affect your driving, you can go to jail for a year.

Here is the text of the new law.

by
Published on:
Updated:
Contact Information