The next big change in Maine DUI law is the new suspension periods. Since 2009 the suspensions for repeat DUI’s are longer – a lot longer.
For first DUI it is the same – 90 days. The old suspension for a second DUI in 10 years was 18 months. Now it is 3 years. For a third DUI in 10 years it was 4 years. Now it is 6 years. For a fourth and subsequent offenses it is still 6 years. Except for a first offense, there are no work licenses.
Maine is a rural state. We have no buses or trains outside of a couple of cities. For most people a second or third OUI in 10 years means the end of their job. It means families are going to fall into poverty.