Now that summer is drawing to a close, many students have started to head back to school. The beginning of a new school year is an exciting time as students get back together with old friends and begin a new season of sporting events and other school activities. But despite all the excitement of the back to school season, unfortunately this is also too often a time when students are exposed to the pressures of drinking.
Under Maine Title 28-A, possession, consumption, or purchase of alcohol by a minor can cost up to $400 in fines (assuming it is a first offense). Parents who allow minors in their control, or in a place under their control, to consume alcohol are facing a Class D crime, meaning that it is punishable by up to 364 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,000. If that minor is less than 18 years old, then there is a mandatory fine of not less than $1,000 (for a first offense). If a minor is found illegally transporting alcohol, they can face a fine up to $500 as well as having their license suspended for 30 days (again, assuming a first offense). Lastly, a minor found to have any alcohol at all in their bloodstream while driving can have their license suspended for a year if the minor is alone in the vehicle or two and a half years if they have a passenger under 21 in the car. They can then face even harsher punitive action if they are a .08 BAC or above. Remember, when someone is under 21, there is a zero-tolerance policy for alcohol. Therefore, it will not matter if they are under a .08 BAC – but the penalties will be even harsher if they are over a .08 BAC. Refusal to take a BAC test will result in the mandatory suspension of the minor’s license for a year and a half.
This all goes to show two things: first, if you’re a minor, don’t drink. Second: if you have been arrested for any of the above crimes or infractions, it is 100% imperative that you get the best legal representation available. Being found guilty of any of these crimes could have a far-reaching and long-lasting negative impact on your life (or, at the very least, on your back to school plans).
If you have been accused by the police in Maine of OUI, “Operating Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs”, DUI, DWI, Habitual Offender (HO), Operating under Suspension (OAS), possession of a controlled drug or any alleged motor vehicle or any state or federal criminal offense, feel free to call Attorney John Webb today at 207-283-6400 and arrange a free consultation to discuss your case or visit:
WEBB LAW FIRM, www.WebbLawMaine.com
Saco, Maine at 16 Middle Street, behind the Saco Post Office; call: (207-283-6400).